If I never sell another painting

So, I was having a conversation recently about how deeply intrigued I am by the work of Vincent van Gogh. I’ve been thinking about that this morning as I put together the final preparations for our first all-school art show of the year.

Most people really like van Gogh’s Starry Night, and with good reason…it’s a great piece, but I don’t like it for any of the reasons that most people do. In fact, I specifically don’t like some of the trite or usual reasons that people like his work. I feel that way, because he is so very misunderstood. And those that cling to the typical analysis of his work are missing the point of the man and his amazing body of work.

I think it is this point on which I so greatly identify with him…the point of misunderstanding.

he sold one painting in his entire life. And it was bought by a friend of his brother’s. He did not consider himself a great artist…but he worked anyway. That is what I’m working towards…working anyway.

It reminds me of another conversation I had…one of going through the different circles of people in life and the past and how they would not all agree on the type of person I am. Most would say I don’t let things bother me. I take stuff in stride. I’m a good leader, wearing my emotions on my sleeve. And to the best of their knowledge that is true.

But there is more…so much more

I’m working on not hiding so much. I’m working on just being who I am regardless of where I’m at or who I’m with. But this is hard…it’s not easy. it’s not my initial response. In fact, it’s the furthest thing from my mind. And so I pray…I pray for continued healing. That my yes would be yes and my no be no, without apology. To hold my high and walk in the knowledge of Jesus…and that what He has created in me is important and valuable because He says so…

even if I never sell another painting.

Leave a Reply

