Pass it on

So, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what God has been doing in my life. I’m in one of those places where I’m beginning to see the results in a way I haven’t before. In fact the changes in me and my life are apparently obvious to others….that’s when you know it’s a big deal.

Several people in the last week or two have mentioned how different I look…or seem…or act…and it happened again today. Which made me start to think about the vibe I was putting out before. And the more I think about it the more I realize I have spent most of my teaching years tired.

all the time

The more I’ve thought about it the more I’m realizing how much I used to say that…”Oh, well, there is a lot going on right now and I’m just tired…but things are good.” Not really very convincing.

And the changes that I’ve made…on the outside…to me…seem very small. But the changes in my heart…between me and Jesus, are huge. And what I’ve come to understand is that what has happened is a total revamp of my perception…of everything. Which is awesome.

It’s been a long time coming.

I just have more joy. period. I’m enjoying my job…and not letting it suck the life out of me. I’m spending enormous amounts of time with Jesus….and I’m discovering that it’s not all the same way all the time. Sometimes I write a lot in one day. Sometimes I talk out loud a lot in one day. Sometimes I read a lot in one day. Sometimes I worship a lot in one day….He doesn’t care that it’s not all exactly the same routine…in fact I think He likes the variety…I know I do. I’m creating art. I’m spending time with my friends…investing in relationships. I’m being healthy…exercising and eating well. And all of that together makes for a much more balanced me.

I love it.

I found a 3×5 card in the last week or so that my mom had written a few verses on for me at a time when I was really struggling. It’s really stuck with me. In fact, I’m carrying it around with me everyday because it’s so applicable to where Jesus seems to be leading me.

All praise to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. He is the source of every mercy and the God who comforts us. He comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort others. When others are troubled we will be able to give them the same comfort God has given us. You can be sure that the more we suffer for Christ, the more God will shower us with His comfort through Christ. So when we are weighed down with troubles it is for your benefit and salvation! For when God comforts us, it is so that we in turn can be an encouragement for you. Then you can patiently endure the same things we suffer. We are confident that as you share in suffering, you will also share God’s comfort.
II Cor. 1:3-7

I have been so encouraged by the people in my life…and I am being given lots of opportunities to do the same. I’ve been through some tough stuff. But I absolutely would not be who I am today without it. And I am thankful, because it gives me a voice of knowledge and understanding that I would not otherwise have. And the process of finding my voice has been crucial to my growth.

And now its time…to take the comfort of my Savior…

and pass it on.

Leave a Reply

