Getting my house in order

So, I’ve been spending some time getting my house in order. We talked about this at church during the last sermon series. Between that and some good conversation with friends…I just got really motivated to do this literally.

You see…I have this office….

Do I really need to say more? Anyone living in a house or condo or whatever that has more than one bedroom/bathroom knows what I’m talking about. My office is where everything without a place has been literally tossed for the 5 years I’ve lived in my condo. You cannot EVEN imagine the level of clutter that was contained in this smallest room in my house.

Around thanksgiving I got it in my head that I was going to clean it out and have it be the usable space it was intended to be. It’s where I planned to work…not just on school stuff, but on my art, both on the computer and on the easel. I have never actually been able to do that while I’ve lived here.

Until the middle of this week.

I actually did it…I’ve been through everything I own. A lot of things went into the trash. A lot of things are packed up to go to good will. And…a lot of things found their way to a permanent organized resting place. It’s amazing…making me wonder why I didn’t do this a long time ago. I mean I feel so much better knowing that there is not clutter in my home anymore.

Which made me think about my heart.

I hadn’t made the connection until today, but this is what Jesus has been doing with my life. Getting rid of the clutter…helping me learn to pitch the stuff I’ve carried around that I just don’t need. Giving Him the burdens I don’t need to be lugging around. And organizing my heart around Him and not me.

And I feel better.

So today was a good day. I finished up my responsibilities at school, exercised with a trusted friend, did a photo shoot for another good friend, and completed the process of getting my house in order.

And the timing couldn’t be better.

Leave a Reply

