I’m just a puppy


So, I have this puppy…her name is India and she is the cutest thing ever. But she is still a puppy. This being translated means that I spend a lot of time repeating myself…and I do mean a LOT.

India sit
India off
India down
India no

I’m reading that the more calm/firm/consistent I am with my commands to her the better/sooner she will learn them. We’ll see. But I’m doing my best.

So, the other day, I’m having my quiet time and my roommate was painting. India was feeling very left out and wanted to have some attention so she kept trying to get up on me. It went something like this…

India off
India sit
India down
Good girl

She would lay there for a few min. sometimes even playing with a toy for a bit before getting up and doing it all over again. In the beginning it was almost a constant cycle with no stopping.

After a while, my roommate says to me, laughing…I don’t know how you’re doing that and staying so calm. And almost without thinking I responded…because I know she will get it. She’s just a puppy. She wants the attention, but she can’t have it right now. Eventually as she grows up she will obey the commands because I am consistent and kind with them now.

Which later made me think…that’s exactly what my Savior does. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about why He would continue to work in me when I seem to do the same things over and over again. Don’t get me wrong…I’m more creative than the dog in this…but at the core, I commit the same sort of sins over and over. I’ve wondered why it is that Jesus seems to continue to cover me with grace and call me to great things when this is the case.

I’m like the dog…

I’m in a puppy phase with Him right now. The idea that He has a call on my life that is bigger than myself is relatively new to me. It has changed my perspective on just about everything…which is good. But it scares the begeezus out of me, and that brings out my “go-to” human nature…which He calmly/firmly/consistently redirects. He seems to think that eventually I will get it. That I will embrace the call and what it means and I will mature in my response to it.

Interesting….

When it comes right down to it…

I’m just a puppy

Leave a Reply

