The throw up theory…

So, if you have known me for very long you have heard me discuss my theory that I know when God is asking me to do something big or make a major change in my life because it makes me want to throw up…a little bit…in the back of my throat.

or a lot…

all over the place

I think I heard this first from Pastor Steven in a sermon a while back.  Something along the lines of if your vision doesn’t make you want to throw up it probably isn’t from God.  That concept really stuck with me, as I had several opportunities to experience it in my life.  (Actually it was repetition of Him asking the same one or two things of me and my “wanting to be sure” it was Him.)

Anyway, I think I’ve come to embrace this as much as you can embrace the feeling of wanting to vomit.  Today, however, I found a scripture that backs up this aforementioned theory…

8Then the voice that I had heard from heaven spoke to me once more: “Go, take the scroll that lies open in the hand of the angel who is standing on the sea and on the land.”

9So I went to the angel and asked him to give me the little scroll. He said to me, “Take it and eat it. It will turn your stomach sour, but in your mouth it will be as sweet as honey.” 10I took the little scroll from the angel’s hand and ate it. It tasted as sweet as honey in my mouth, but when I had eaten it, my stomach turned sour. 11Then I was told, “You must prophesy again about many peoples, nations, languages and kings.”

Revelation 10:8-11

Seriously…??  John is in the midst of a revelation from God and after he has tried to take in (and write down for the future generations, mind you) all that he has witnessed, God tells him to go and take a scroll from the most intimidating angel described to this point.

Honestly, who wants to walk up to the giant angel of the Lord and say “Hey, I’m gonna need to take that scroll you have there.”  But like the obedient prophet…John does so.  He’s doing EXACTLY what he has been told BY GOD to do…and it results in his feeling the need to vomit…right before being told he has to prophesy….again.

So, as I took that in this morning, some things came to mind.

1.  Yes, I can be right in the center of what God has specifically asked me to do and feel like I’m gonna vomit.

2.  The vomiting comes in the middle…right between, being told what you’re supposed to do and carrying it to completion.

3.  The completion of what God is calling me to do doesn’t always look exactly like what I’m agreeing to in the beginning.

Let me unpack that last one a bit…God says TAKE the scroll – okay, the angel tells him to EAT the scroll (cue vomit), then John is told “you must prophesy again…”  Did you catch that?  AGAIN…as in, not so fast there buddy…you’re not done with what I’ve asked you to do…past prophesy, taking/eating the scroll was just the beginning…

I think God does this because He knows (at least with me) that the part that makes me want to vomit is all I can hear and still agree to do what He’s asking me to do.  If I knew all the stuff that came after what I originally know/agree to then I would throw up my hands and say…I’m outta here.  But once I trust Him to take me through the beginning of His plan, I’m in the zone with Him and the next part just makes me want to throw up…again…not run away all together.

It’s the throw up theory…

Leave a Reply

