timing

I don’t know if you feel this way, but lately I have really been utterly amazed at the timing of my Savior.

Just when I think that hope is lost…He shows up.  When I am ready to throw up my hands in defeat…He brings a word of encouragement.  At the moment when I’m ready to allow my dream to die…He brings the crash cart and gives it life again.

I was reading this morning about a long desert in someone else’s life.  I’ve gotta say, I’m beginning to realize that I am growing out of my own desert of the last 10 years or so.  I didn’t even realize it until today, but now, it seems so unmistakable.

Right after my daughter was born and adopted I had this overwhelming desire to help other girls that were going through that single and pregnant thing.  I wanted to encourage them that this event would not ruin their lives.  Change it forever, yes…but ruin it completely, no…not unless they let it.

However, what I’m realizing now is that I was so unprepared to walk someone else through this process then…not that I’m totally the expert now, but I have learned a lot in the last several years.  There have been a lot of victories as well as a lot of times of disappointment in being a birthmother.

As doors open around me I realize I’m like the woman I read about today.  I am more prepared than ever to speak to the amazing opportunity of open adoption.  I’ve got some experience under my belt.  I have been so abundantly blessed by my daughter’s adoptive parents.  It’s not an easy road….but the beautiful relationship I have not only with my daughter but also with her family is more than I could have ever asked for.

So, with hopeful anticipation I look to the future and know that God has ordered every step along the way, as I wandered in my desert, and prepared me for what He’s preparing for me…all in His perfect…

timing

Leave a Reply

