what are we protecting

So, I was listening to something today and this thought passed through my mind…Hmmm, I’m not sure that’s appropriate for elementary aged children.

But the more I thought about it the more it really made me wonder…

why?

Why do I feel like a story that involves something horrific isn’t appropriate for a certain age group?  I realize that there has to be some of this, but in this particular context I’m not sure my gut reaction was correct.

I think we tend to over-protect or shelter the children around us just so we don’t have to answer hard questions or explain difficult things that happen in other parts of the world.

I heard a story from a Nigerian man once of a group of tribal children that had heard about Jesus and made it their mission to tell every one they knew…children and adults alike about him.

One of the things that struck me about this story is how they would walk together in a line through dangerous parts of the jungle to go to school and learn more about Jesus.  An adult asked them if they were afraid to go alone and they said no because Jesus and his friend walked in front of and behind them and told them where to go.

There is more to the story and I believe it’s part of a book that records the amazing witness of these children in Africa.  But today I was reminded of my thoughts while hearing about these amazing children…American kids would never do that.

No, strike that…American adults would never allow children to do that.

And so today my question is more of a general wondering…if we are supposed to come to Christ with childlike faith, why do we work so hard to “protect” our children from difficult things like death and poverty and so on?  Is it possible we are effectively dulling or deadening part of their spirit from knowing and understanding God more clearly?  Is it possible that we are really just trying to save ourselves from having to figure out how to communicate to them the realities of our world and it’s need for a Savior?  I’m not sure…but it makes me wonder…

what are we protecting

Leave a Reply

