don’t ask for just a few…

All has been quiet on the blog front while I have spent some time searching my soul and preparing for this journey through uncertainty.  Sorry if you’ve been waiting with baited breath for this next installment.  But I have learned over the last few years not to force it.  It just becomes fake and unnecessary at that point…and let’s face it, there is enough of that out there.

I’ve been directed (through conversations with an amazing woman of wisdom) to a study of the life of Elisha.  Different passages kept surfacing in the last month or so that sparked a curiosity that I just couldn’t avoid about this prophet of the Lord.  This week I read a story that struck a chord…2 Kings 4:1-7…whip it out, it’s a good one.

Here’s where it gets me…

Elisha said, “Go around and ask all your neighbors for empty jars.  Don’t ask for just a few.”

Now, I don’t know about you, but the last thing I want to do when I feel like I’m at the end of my rope is to go ask someone for help.  I would imagine this was her sentiment as well.  Which is what leads Elisha to the specific instruction not to just ask for a few.  You see…he knew what he was asking God for and if she just had a few jars there wouldn’t be the opportunity for the abundance that God intended.

So, here’s the thing…I’m at the end of my rope and the last thing I want to do is ask someone for something.  However, in conversation, in scripture…in everything God is showing me right now, I’m supposed to ask for help.

I love to write.  I love to write a lot.  I never imagined I would write any words…much less those words, but it is the truth.  God has placed something in me and I want Him to make it something excellent.  The She Speaks conference has a writing track and as I have been directed to some great writers in our area this conference has come up over and over again.  I know that attending this conference is one way God is going to hone my skills and further expose His plan for my life.

I thought the deadline for me to raise my scholarship was next month.  However,  I was incorrect.  The deadline is today.  So, if you had thought about helping me I’m asking…I need your “empty jar.”

You can call Proverbs 31 Ministries at 877-731-4663 or email me at mullen.laura@gmail.com for mailing information.

Leave a Reply

