Reading through my devotional time today I made a discovery.  Not your ordinary discovery, a life changing one.  He has been working up to this one, through prayer and lost security, through my time at She Speaks and finally in my time with Him today…Isaiah 6:1-8

1 In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord seated on a throne, high and exalted, and the train of his robe filled the temple. 2 Above him were seraphs, each with six wings: With two wings they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with two they were flying. 3 And they were calling to one another:
“Holy, holy, holy is the LORD Almighty;
the whole earth is full of his glory.”4 At the sound of their voices the doorposts and thresholds shook and the temple was filled with smoke.

5 “Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the LORD Almighty.”

6 Then one of the seraphs flew to me with a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with tongs from the altar. 7 With it he touched my mouth and said, “See, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away and your sin atoned for.”

8 Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?”
And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”

While the end of this verse seems to be something we hear a lot in Christian circles, but I just can’t get away from a truth in the earlier part of the text.  The majesty and glory of the Lord overwhelms Isaiah and exposes the sin in his life.  He express it as his unclean lips.

The sereaph comes with a burning coal and cauterizes Isaiah’s lips with it.  Think about that for a moment.  This is not your ordinary…I’m sorry and I forgive you encounter.  This is an excruciating experience.  One in which what is rotting is burned away so that what is left can heal properly.  It’s not a quick fix.  It’s a permanent change.

And in the aftermath of that moment, God asks…

Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?

Knowing full well that, though he is still healing, Isaiah is now in a place where he doesn’t even have to be directly asked.  Isaiah merely “overhears” the question and is prepared to answer from self-less motivation…

Here am I. Send me!

And as I feel my Savior ruthlessly searing my soul, I am more prepared to say the same.

Here I am…whatever You have in mind, Jesus.  Please, send me…

Leave a Reply

